Fabulous Flavor! Napa Valley 2012 Wine Weekend

I attended the second annual Flavor! Napa Valley Food and Wine Festival 2012. What a spectacular Vino con Vista Weekend I had with 50 Chefs, over 125 Vintners and 3 days of fabulous food and wine adventures in the heart of Napa Valley Wine Country!

Watch this video to see what I witnessed in Napa:

http://youtu.be/78brXJOu_Bs

English: Vineyards in Napa Valley
English: Vineyards in Napa Valley (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mustards in the spring in Napa Valley. Photo b...
Mustards in the spring in Napa Valley. Photo by Emily Bryden, 2005 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Flavor! Napa Valley food and wine festival was originated by Chef Michael Chiarello.

English: A photo of chef Cindy Pawlcyn, taken ...
English: A photo of chef Cindy Pawlcyn, taken at Congregation Beth Sholom in Napa, California (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The event in Napa Valley was led by an impressive array of Napa Valley-based celebrity chefs including: Thomas Keller, Christopher Kostow, Cindy Pawlcyn, Jeffrey Jake and Masaharu Morimoto.

Way to go Chef!!
Morimoto Restaurant in Downtown Napa
Flavor Napa Valley 2012 at the Culinary Institute in Saint Helena
English: Heitz Wine cellars vineyards
English: Heitz Wine cellars vineyards (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
WHEN: November 14-18, 2012
WHERE: Started at Amusee Napa: A Downtown Napa Tasting on Wednesday, November 14th. Appellation Trail Grand Tasting on Friday night. Individual events require tickets during the week.
TICKETS: Individual event tickets range from $85 To $325, with the historic, two-day Legends of Napa Valley tasting at $3500 per person.
I went to the Appellation Trail Event at the Culinary Institute on Friday night. Manyl of the outstanding wineries were pouring. There was live entertainment and plenty of food on two floors of Greystone’s historic building.
The loved the Wine Makers’ Dinner at the Silverado Resort on Friday night where I met many of the legendary winemakers. The food was outstanding!
Flavor Napa Valley Winemaker Dinner
Flavor Napa Valley Winemaker Dinner
According to festival producer Herb Karlitz, one of the festival highlights is a two-day tasting of wines “that have and continue to put Napa Valley on the map, reaching back to the post-Prohibition wines of the ‘40s through the present day.”
Each table at the dinner event had their own winemaker. We drank the winemakers selection with each course.
The dinner was held in the ballroom of the Silverado Resort.
The Silverado Resort in Napa
Old Vine cabernet from Chateau Montelena, Napa...
Old Vine cabernet from Chateau Montelena, Napa Valley, California. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
I also attended the Flavor Napa Sunday morning brunch.
Lovely Farm-to-table Centerpiece at the Flavor Napa Valley 2012 Brunch
Flavor Napa Valley 2012 Brunch
Heitz
Heitz (Photo credit: Rachel Black)

Featured amazing wines at one of the seminars were: ’57 Louis Martini Pinot Noir, ’66 Charles Krug Vintage Selection Cabernet Sauvignon, ‘76 Joseph Phelps Insignia, ’77 Beringer Private Reserve, Cabernet Sauvignon, ’78 Heitz Wine Cellars Martha’s Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon, ’78 Chateau Montelena Estate Cabernet Sauvignon.”

Chateau Montelena in Calistoga California

Heitz Wine Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon

English: Fall in Napa Valley
English: Fall in Napa Valley (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Flavor! Napa Valley was a five-day Napa Valley food and wine festival featuring the area’s superlative chefs, restaurants and wineries.

The festival format included a series of creative tastings and seasonally-inspired meals, as well as a variety of hands-on and educational experiences led by the region’s most notable chefs, vintners and sommeliers.

English: Napa_Valley_CA_Photo_D_Ramey_Logan
English: Napa_Valley_CA_Photo_D_Ramey_Logan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
English: CIA Campus in St. Helena, California
English: CIA Campus in St. Helena, California (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Event venues included the Silverado Resort and Spa in Napa, The Culinary Institute of America (CIA) at Greystone in St. Helena, as well as restaurants and wineries throughout the region.

Events ranged from a new series of small and hands-on immersions entitled Terroir to Table™ to a historic, two-day library tasting of Napa Valley’s most celebrated wines in the last 50-years, including today’s “cult” wines, appropriately named The Legends of Napa Valley: A Definitive Tasting. Net proceeds from all events support programs and scholarships at CIA’s Greystone Campus.

English: Autumn in Napa Valley
English: Autumn in Napa Valley (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Individual event tickets ranged from $85 To $325, with the historic, two-day Legends of Napa Valley tasting at $3500 per person. Many of the area’s lodging partners offered offering special Flavor! Napa Valley packages that combine a stay with festival tickets, such as Silverado Resort and Spa’s Flavor! Napa Valley package, which includes accommodations in a one-bedroom Fireplace Suite, breakfast for two in The Grill, a signature culinary welcome gift and tickets to Amusee Napa: A Downtown Napa Tasting on Wednesday, November 14.

Silverado Resort in Napa
The Wine Cellar at Hess Winery
The Wine Cellar at Hess Winery (Photo credit: don j schulte @ oxherder arts)

Additional Napa Valley properties are also offered special Flavor! Napa Valley packages, and complete information on lodging packages can be found at: http://visit.legendarynapavalley.com/index.cfm/napa_valley_lodging-flavor_napa_valley.htm

I love Napa Valley

Here are some of the Hotel Packages that were offered in Napa Valley:

Flavor! Napa Valley 2012 announced ticket-only and lodging packages for the food-and-wine festival, which takes place Nov. 14 to 18. In addition, all guests with confirmed reservations at a Napa Valley hotel or inn during this time will automatically receive 20 percent off of Appellation Trail tickets and select ticket packages.

1. Guests staying at Milliken Creek any time from Nov. 1 to 24 for two nights will receive a third night at 50 percent off the best available rate when booking online by entering the promotional code FESTIVAL. Daily gourmet breakfast for two, sunset Magic Hour wine and cheese reception, a late-night cordial bar and guest passes to Synergy wellness and fitness center are included in the rate.

2. At Auberge du Soleil in Rutherford, guests save 10 percent on nightly room rates for Friday and Saturday night stays and 20 percent on midweek stays. All Flavor! guests receive a special welcome amenity from the chef and a culinary keepsake.

3. At the Villagio Inn & Spa and Vintage Inn in Yountville, guests who mention Flavor! Napa Valley when making reservations receive 20 percent off of room rates. This offer is valid from Nov. 14 to 18 and includes complimentary amenities, such as bottle of wine upon check-in, a champagne buffet breakfast, daily afternoon tea and access to Spa Villagio’s facilities. Ticket-only packages range from $350 to $955 per

English: Vineyards in Napa Valley. Français : ...
English: Vineyards in Napa Valley. Français : Vignobles de la Napa Valley. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
English: Vineyard in Napa Valley
English: Vineyard in Napa Valley (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

More information on tickets and the complete Flavor! Napa Valley event schedule can be found at www.flavornapavalley.com, Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/FlavorNapaValley and @FlavorNV on Twitter.

Here are the details for the Appellation Trail Event on Friday Night at Greystone including participating Chefs and Wineries. When you go to Napa County, make sure you check out these incredible links:

1. Participating Chefs

Angèle: Scott Ekstrom, www.angelerestaurant.com

Auberge du Soleil: Robert Curry, www.aubergedusoleil.com

Azzurro Pizzeria e Enoteca: Michael Gyetvan, www.azzurropizzeria.com

Baldacci Family Vineyards: www.baldaccivineyards.com

Bistro Jeanty: Philippe Jeanty, www.bistrojeanty.com

Brix: Chris Jones, www.brix.com

Ca’Momi Enoteca: Valentina Guolo-Migotto, www.camomienoteca.com

étoile Restaurant: Perry Hoffman, www.chandon.com/etoile-restaurant.html

FARM at the Carneros Inn : Steven Tevere and Andrew Budnyj, www.thecarnerosinn.com

Farmstead Restaurant: Stephen Barber, www.farmsteadnapa.com

Fish Story: Clint Davies, www.fishstorynapa.com

French Blue: Philip Wang, www.frenchbluenapa.com

Gott’s Roadside: Rick Robinson, www.gotts.com

Hurley’s Restaurant: Bob Hurley, www.hurleysrestaurant.com

JoLē : Matt Spector, www.jolerestaurant.com

La Condesa: Rene Ortiz, www.lacondesanapavalley.com

La Toque: Ken Frank, www.latoque.com

Lucy Restaurant & Bar at Bardessono: Victor Scargle, www.bardessono.com

Morimoto Napa: Masaharu Morimoto and Kang Kuan, www.morimotonapa.com

NapaStyle Cafe: Michael Chiarello,www.napastyle.com/cafe

Norman Rose Tavern: Michael Gyetvan, www.normanrosenapa.com

Oenotri: Tyler Rodde and Curtis Di Fede, www.oenotri.com

REDD: Richard Reddington, www.reddnapavalley.com

Restaurant Cuvee: Jordan Mackey, www.cuveenapa.com

Siena at The Meritage Resort and Spa: Mike Collins, www.themeritageresort.com/dining/siena-restaurant

Silverado Resort and Spa: Jeffrey Jake, www.silveradoresort.com

Solbar: Brandon Sharp, www.solbarnv.com

The Thomas: Brad Farmerie, www.thethomas-napa.com

VINeleven: Brian Whitmer, www.napavalleymarriott.com/dining

The Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant: Almir Da Fonseca, www.ciachef.edu/restaurants/wsgr

2. Wineries

Ackerman Family Vineyards: www.ackermanfamilyvineyards.com

Amici Cellars: www.amicicellars.com

Andretti Winery Napa Valley: www.andrettiwinery.com

Antica Napa Valley: www.anticanapavalley.com

ARNS: www.arnswinery.com

Artesa Winery: www.artesawinery.com

B Cellars: www.bcellars.com

Beaulieu Vineyard: www.bvwines.com

Bounty Hunter Rare Wine: www.bountyhunterwine.com

Broman Cellars: www.bromancellars.com

Cakebread Cellars: www.cakebread.com

Canard Vineyard: www.canardvineyard.com

Ceja Vineyards: www.cejavineyards.com

Celani Family Vineyards: www.celaniwines.com

Chappellet Vineyards and Winery: www.chappellet.com

Charles Krug Winery, Peter Mondavi Sr. Family: www.charleskrug.com

Chase Cellars: www.chasecellars.com

Clif Family Winery: www.cliffamilywinery.com

Clos Pegase: www.clospegase.com

Cosentino Winery: www.cosentinowinery.com

Crosby Roamann: www.crosbyroamann.com

Domaine Chandon: www.chandon.com

Duckhorn Vineyards: www.duckhornwineshop.com

Elizabeth Spencer: www.elizabethspencerwines.com

Farella-Park Vineyards: www.farella.com

Fontanella Family Winery: www.fontanellawinery.com

Fortunati Vineyards: www.fortunatiwines.com

Frank Family Vineyards: www.frankfamilyvineyards.com

Freemark Abbey: www.freemarkabbey.com

Gargiulo Vineyards: www.gargiulovineyards.com

Grgich Hills Estate: www.grgich.com

The Hess Collection Winery: www.hesscollection.com

Hestan Vineyards: www.hestan.com

HUNNICUTT: www.hunnicuttwines.com

Jack Brooks Vineyard: www.jbvineyard.com

Jericho Canyon Vineyard: www.jerichocanyonvineyard.com

Joseph Phelps Vineyards: www.jpvwines.com

Kelleher Family Vineyard: www.kelleherwines.com

Kenefick Ranch Winery: www.kenefickranch.com

Knights Bridge Winery: www.knightsbridgewinery.com

Krupp Brothers: www.kruppbrothers.com

La Jota Vineyard Co.: www.lajotavineyardco.com

Laird Family Estate: www.lairdfamilyestate.com

LAMBORN Family Vineyards: www.lamborn.com

Long Meadow Ranch Winery: www.longmeadowranch.com

Match Vineyards: www.matchvineyards.com

Melka Wines: www.melkawines.com

Merryvale Vineyards: www.merryvale.com

Michael Mondavi Family Wines: www.michaelmondavifamilyestate.com

Monticello Vineyards: www.corleyfamilynapavalley.com

MOONE-TSAI WINES: www.moonetsai.com

Mt. Brave: www.mtbravewines.com

Oakville Ranch: www.oakvilleranch.com

Oberon Wines: www.oberonwines.com

O’Shaughnessy Estate Winery: www.oshaughnessywinery.com

Pahlmeyer: www.pahlmeyer.com

Paraduxx: www.paraduxx.com

Parry Cellars: www.parrycellars.com

PATEL – Napa Valley: www.patelwinery.com

PEJU: www.peju.com

Pine Ridge Vineyards: www.pineridgevineyards.com

PureCru Napa Valley: www.purecruwines.com

Raymond Vineyards: www.raymondvineyards.com

Renteria Wines: www.renteriawines.com

Revana Family Vineyard: www.revanawine.com

Robert Biale Vineyards: www.robertbialevineyards.com

Robert Craig Winery: www.robertcraigwine.com

Robert Mondavi Winery: www.robertmondavi.com

Rombauer Vineyards: www.rombauer.com

Saintsbury: www.saintsbury.com

Schramsberg Vineyards & J. Davies Vineyards: www.schramsberg.com

Schweiger Vineyards: www.schweigervineyards.com

Shafer Vineyards: www.shafervineyards.com

Silver Oak Cellars: www.silveroak.com

Sodaro Estate Winery: www.sodarowines.com

Spring Mountain Vineyard: www.springmountainvineyard.com

St. Supéry Estate: www.stsupery.com

Staglin Family Vineyard: www.staglinfamily.com

Stony Hill Vineyard: www.stonyhillvineyard.com

Tamber Bey Vineyards: www.tamberbey.com

Terra Valentine Winery: www.terravalentine.com

Titus Vineyards: www.titusvineyards.com

Tom Scott Vineyard: www.tomscottvineyard.com

TOR Kenward Family Wines: www.torwines.com

Trefethen Family Vineyards: www.trefethen.com

Tres Sabores: www.tressabores.com

Twomey Cellars: www.twomey.com

Tyler Florence Wines: www.tylerflorencewines.com

Waterstone: www.waterstonewines.com

ZD Wines: www.zdwines.com

Dr. EveAnn Lovero writes Travel Guides and Apps @ www.vino-con-vista.com

Related articles
Enhanced by Zemanta

1 Comment

Filed under Fabulous Flavor! Napa Valley 2012 Wine Weekend

One Response to Fabulous Flavor! Napa Valley 2012 Wine Weekend

  1. Pingback: Premiere Napa Valley Wine Extravaganza 2013 | Vino Con Vista Italy Travel Guides and Events

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>